Hop til hovedindhold

About The Milky Way

The 9 stages

Skin-to-skin contact

Smells the breast

Licks and tastes the milk

Seeks and finds breast, gets nipple in mouth

Suckles and swallows

Suckles and swallows for brief periods, several times a day

Breastfeeds more effectively, reduced amount through feeding-tube/cup

Breastfeeds majority of feeds

Only breastfeeding at all feeds

Want to learn more?

Learn more at Knowledge Centre for Breastfeeding infants with special needs